• Club captains & committees

    • Club structure

      Ombersley is a proprietary golf course, owned and operated by the family business John Dowty Ltd.

      Ombersley has a Club with a very strong and thriving membership. The objective of the Club is to do everything it can to promote golf at Ombersley for the enhancement and enjoyment of its members.

    • The committee

      The Club is represented by a committee which usually consists of 12 members who meet monthly. The proprietor’s management team also attend monthly meetings and both the proprietors and the membership benefit from the strong links maintained via the general committee.

      Committee/ Officer contact details:

      Chairman: Phil Pomeroy                                                                      

      Men's Captain: Maurice Candlin   M: 07702888733  Email Maurice                                   

      Men's Vice Captain: Jeff Ball    M: 07968 513333     Email Jeff                                

      Lady Captain: Catherine Maund   M: 07788 418045   Email Catherine                              

      Ladies' Vice Captain: Andy Wright M: 07778 445962  Email Andy

      Senior's Captain: Dave Marks M: 07443 605067 Email Dave

      Senior's Vice Captain: Richard Kings M: 07702 557317 Email Richard

      Treasurer: Pauline Bryant

      Secretary: John Ashman

      Juniors Representative: Paul Slavin Email Paul

      Handicap Secretary: Gill Clayton Email Gill

      Safeguarding Representative  Val Chapman

    • At the Club A.G.M on Thursday 3rd March, Andrew Mawby retired as Chairman after many years service on the committee. Phil Pomeroy was elected as Chairman. Phil had already been on committee for many years as Handicap Secretary.

      Gill Clayton is now sole Handicap Secretary.


    • Due to the very busy nature of club like at Ombersley there are also sub committees run by the ladies and men which handle the intricacies of their own sections.

      In  March 2022 Andrew Mawby retired after 17 years on the committee and was made an Honorary Full Playing Member in recognition of his most valuable contributions during his term of office.

    • In 2015 Roy Crowe retired after 19 years on the committee as Chairman and was made honorary life president of the club in recognition of his most valuable contributions during his term of office.



      Welcome from your new captains

    • Maurice Candlin (Men’s Captain)

      I was born on the 21st April 1958 in Blakedown and lived there for over 50 years, schooled at Sion Hill and then Wolverley High School. I attended Kidderminster College studying engineering; before going into the drop forging industry at the age of 17, for over 40 years with various companies.

      I am now self employed in the construction industry.

      I have been a member at the golf club for nearly 22 years and look forward to meeting you all on the course or in the clubhouse after. 

    • Catherine Maund ( Ladies’ Captain)

      I dabbled with golf some 30 plus years ago, but since retiring from teaching 4 years ago; I have taken up the game with gusto! I was encouraged to do so by my brother and sister, who are both keen and able golfers. We now play fun competitions for a family trophy (in memory of our mother!) As a family we are all keen sportspeople; my main sports at university and beyond were cricket, hockey and tennis. I also enjoy skiing and hill walking.

      It is a huge honour to be asked to be Captain of the Ladies' section and I hope that my former role as a Pastoral Deputy at Bromsgrove School will have left me with one or two skills which I can transfer to the role of Captain. One thing I have found above all is that the Ladies' Section is very generous in both its welcome and its encouragement of lady golfers of all abilities; long may that continue.

      I look forward to working with the club and other section captains to make this a great golfing year for all!

    • Dave Marks (Senior Men’s Captain)

      I have been a member at the club for over 15 years, and am excited to take on mantle of Seniors Captain for 2022/23. I have had a great year as Vice Captain under the expert tutelage of Jerry Curtis and hope to emulate his many achievements. My charity is Parkinsons UK, and any donations, either via specific events or otherwise will be gratefully received.

      Please accept my best wishes for a happy, healthy golfing year!



    • The elected Committee members for the 2022/23 membership year are as follows:

      • Chairman: Phil Pomeroy
      • Men's Captain: Maurice Candlin
      • Men's Vice Captain: Jeff Ball
      • Lady Captain: Catherine Maund
      • Ladies' Vice Captain: Andy Wright
      • Senior’s Captain: Dave Marks
      • Senior’s Vice Captain: Richard Kings
      • Treasurer: Pauline Bryant
      • Secretary: John Ashman
      • Handicap Secretary: Gill Clayton
      • Juniors Representative: Paul Slavin